BMW iX3 2021 review - a German Tesla Model Y?
in

BMW iX3 2021 review – a German Tesla Model Y?

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….

This is BMW’s all-new, all-electric SUV, the iX3!

Excited already? Well, you’ll have to hold your horses – it’s not going to be available until Summer 2021! However, we’ve been lucky enough to get our hands on a press car to show you just what you can expect from BMW’s all-new EV.

When it comes to the design, you won’t be surprised to hear it doesn’t veer too far away from the regular X3. There are smatterings of blue across both the interior & exterior, along with a new grille (no need for the regular vents, after all) and a new bumper at the rear.

On the inside, you’ll be glad to hear not too much has changed – a good thing, given how popular the regular X3 is! However, being a new car, it’s also been updated with the latest BMW infotainment system. In terms of performance, the iX3 is powered by a single, rear-mounted motor (that can produce 236hp and 400Nm of torque), along with an 80kWh battery pack.

But can it outperform class-leaders like the Mercedes EQC & Audi e-tron? You’ll have to keep watching to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:58 Price
01:38 Exterior Design
03:28 Interior
04:40 Back Seats
05:25 Boot
06:13 Five Annoying Things
07:44 Five Cool Things
10:10 Motors & Batteries
10:57 Town Driving
13:17 Motorway Driving
14:35 0 – 60mph
15:28 Verdict
…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1.8k Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
45 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
1 month ago

Are we already looking at the greatest electric SUV of 2021? Let us know what you think below!

Francisco Xabier Bilbao San Pedro
Guest
Francisco Xabier Bilbao San Pedro
1 month ago

You're perfectly right about the brands adding unnecessary branding on the electric cars. Why don't just make them look like the standard version?

IAP 438
Guest
IAP 438
1 month ago

Matt please explain features of Lexus lx 570 review

IAP 438
Guest
IAP 438
1 month ago

Matt I am your really big Fan from Pakistan

Alex Nguyen
Guest
Alex Nguyen
1 month ago

nice dog nose grill

Nicolas Brunet
Guest
Nicolas Brunet
1 month ago

What a great channel guys 🙂 Mat you're an incredible host for this channel

GB
Guest
GB
1 month ago

The grill is hideous. Comparing this and the Mach-E the Ford is a cleaner design. The lack of front boot is laughably lazy.

Mitali Mohanty
Guest
Mitali Mohanty
1 month ago

Where is Tesla model Y ???????

constantin58
Guest
constantin58
1 month ago

wheels are hideous

Juan Morán
Guest
Juan Morán
1 month ago

You can raise the eTron with the air suspension and also has traction on all 4 wheels, that is better than the iX3 but the eTron range is lacking.

Juan Morán
Guest
Juan Morán
1 month ago

Too much blue!

honeytgb
Guest
honeytgb
1 month ago

I agree! I HATE how they always have to make a big show-and-tell about "this is an electric car." Big Whoop!!!!

honeytgb
Guest
honeytgb
1 month ago

"That's how you get sex education in the 1980s." LMAO!!!!

R T
Guest
R T
1 month ago

DO A TOYOTA HIGHLANDER REVIEW

Stephen Cawley
Guest
Stephen Cawley
1 month ago

What a pointless badly packaged car

f chow
Guest
f chow
1 month ago

Rear wheel drive? BMW is getting cheap…

ludvig borg
Guest
ludvig borg
1 month ago

not only blue details on the car but also blue lugage

kosti narain
Guest
kosti narain
1 month ago

I hardly ever judge a car by it's looks, but that's just too ugly to ignore

Charlie Anslow
Guest
Charlie Anslow
1 month ago

I appreciate BMW cause all the other car manufacturers have made future cars look really ugly and this one looks quite good but it's hard to get rid of the grill when we have had grills and exhausts for so lo

Thor Arne Rugsveen
Guest
Thor Arne Rugsveen
1 month ago

The blue colour and the fake vents looks silly, and no frunk. The range was disappointing for a 2021 model.
I liked the back seat.
I wish Tesla could make a car like this with their technology.

Sauternes1965
Guest
Sauternes1965
1 month ago

The blue bits are totally unnecessary, same for those stupid wheels.

Sven Hamacher
Guest
Sven Hamacher
1 month ago

Wtf, why the hell does it not have a frunk?!

Avarosa
Guest
Avarosa
1 month ago

58,000 pounds starting price for just a X3 that electrified. Yikes.

jimmykruspe
Guest
jimmykruspe
1 month ago

Could you some time translate miles to kilometers? Apart from that, very good review, as always! 🙂

Martin Wehrend
Guest
Martin Wehrend
1 month ago

I like it. Looks like a BMW. The interiour may not be the latest with fancy screens all over the place…just good quality and BMW feeling.

George C
Guest
George C
1 month ago

proper electric bmw, kept all of it's legacy features

Blaz
Guest
Blaz
1 month ago

7:18 Embarrassing.

Mahesh Anand
Guest
Mahesh Anand
1 month ago

Where is that dumbass grill ? so sad its not in model

Marco Schram
Guest
Marco Schram
1 month ago

As usual a very entertaining video Matt, although it does look like the camera operator forgot to switch on image stabalisation on the camere while filming. Got a bit seasick haha

Nikos Andronas
Guest
Nikos Andronas
1 month ago

disaster !!
Old fashioned , too heavy , RWD ..ok you are not going to go on off-road but what about snowy-iced roads???
AVOID

Mathew Roberts
Guest
Mathew Roberts
1 month ago

Completely agree, theres no diesel or petrol styling is there? Electric drivetrains will be standard before 2030 in UK.

Clive Flint
Guest
Clive Flint
1 month ago

I’m sure I’ve seen milk floats doing a quicker 0-60 time. Not good for a premium BMW EV.

I love to hate
Guest
I love to hate
1 month ago

I’m deaf but I don’t know why I could hear blue and blue again

Oliver Smith
Guest
Oliver Smith
1 month ago

To be fair most car manufacturer's use blue for their electric variants!

Groovelessons
Guest
Groovelessons
1 month ago

Drove an X3 yesterday and thought „wow is the dash outdated“ yeah… iX3 is no better. 2010 design. Boring.

Bob Bowie
Guest
Bob Bowie
1 month ago

doesnt it bother anyone that the hood has all that shit in it? elephant in the room shit

PSW 77
Guest
PSW 77
1 month ago

I’d prefer to save 25k and get the top spec E Niro

Prohaprod
Guest
Prohaprod
1 month ago

Go Audi rs7 and Benz 4WD Offroad race

Lual Arok
Guest
Lual Arok
1 month ago

I love the blue

David Pascal
Guest
David Pascal
1 month ago

this car is gorgeous

alix pennycuick
Guest
alix pennycuick
1 month ago

matt your math sucks

lee nevin
Guest
lee nevin
1 month ago

Is it fitted with runflats?

lee nevin
Guest
lee nevin
1 month ago

ICE pollution is killing people in cities with asthma attacks. Electric cars all ate twice as efficient and produce less pollution and none in cities

Boboc Alexandru
Guest
Boboc Alexandru
1 month ago

Do the new dacia sandero stepway

EpicLedger LLC
Guest
EpicLedger LLC
1 month ago

anything is less shittier than Audi Turd or aka Etron, pardon my french….

Jennifer Connelly is way more stocked than I thought!!

Rihanna. Oiled and pierced.