Hyundai i30 review - better than a VW Golf?
in

Hyundai i30 review – better than a VW Golf?

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….

This is the new Hyundai i30!

Now the i30 may have been seen as a budget option compared to the likes of the VW Golf and Ford Focus, but with updated looks both inside and out, coupled with new engine choices, could the latest generation change that?

In terms of engines, all versions are mild hybrid, with the range topper being a 1.5-litre 4 cylinder turbo petrol which can put down 160hp and hit 0 – 60mph in under 9 seconds.

Ok, so the stats aren’t incredible. But let’s not forget that with a carwow saving, you can pick up a new i30 for under £20,000! With that in mind, if you’re in the market for a new hatchback, should you start considering the i30? You’ll have to stick with Mat to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:53 Exterior Design
01:50 Interior
04:39 Back Seats
06:37 Boot
08:00 Five Annoying Features
09:07 Five Cool Features
10:04 Engines
11:15 Town Driving
12:17 Motorway Driving
14:36 Twisty Road Driving
15:59 Verdict

Volkswagen Golf Review –

Skoda Octavia Review –

Ford Focus Review –

…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

Sign Up to our Newsletter –

.



What do you think?

1.8k Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
20 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
1 month ago

So what do we think – does the new Hyundai i30 look better than the Mk8 VW Golf? VOTE for which you think looks the best below!

Slight Nature
Guest
Slight Nature
1 month ago

yes, its better than a golf.. in any way especially cornering..

Tiago Fernandes
Guest
Tiago Fernandes
1 month ago

Clone do Focus?

LOLBTLOLBT
Guest
LOLBTLOLBT
1 month ago

I feel sry for Audi designers

Mat Huyed
Guest
Mat Huyed
1 month ago

mat seems to have personal issues with VW

emgee44
Guest
emgee44
1 month ago

I thought it was a Ford at first

Matthew Snerbble
Guest
Matthew Snerbble
1 month ago

So golf is better….?

Tz 6
Guest
Tz 6
1 month ago

Dull styling serves a purpose, hardly a car you would rush out and buy.

Dece
Guest
Dece
1 month ago

Mat can you fix your cracked screen for me? It really bothers me

cos22tm
Guest
cos22tm
1 month ago

waiting for the new Hyundai TUCSON for a review 🙂

Vu Bear
Guest
Vu Bear
1 month ago

Seems to me that most manufacturers are backing off the adaptive cruise control, ordered a Vauxhall Grandland X Elite Nav in june 2020 was suppose to have it, got delivered in November 2020 was not fitted when i checked the entire trim level's have it removed :/

Kcuf elgoog
Guest
Kcuf elgoog
1 month ago

I'm so impressed with the rear styling on i30s

Ivan Ivanovic
Guest
Ivan Ivanovic
1 month ago

Ford Focus copy

Sandy BoleYT
Guest
Sandy BoleYT
1 month ago

The fact that this costs the same as a Toyota Yaris is ludicrous even at base model

Fred Greza
Guest
Fred Greza
1 month ago

Look like Hyundai Elite i20 INDIA and price of indian i20 is 7000 Pound only

Hakan gun
Guest
Hakan gun
1 month ago

All cars are same , same cockpit same specs ,same boring mid class cars

Yash Joshi
Guest
Yash Joshi
1 month ago

Lol in India they are still selling i20 and launched 3rd gen in dec2019
No i30 for Indians

김지후
Guest
김지후
1 month ago

13:30 I think there's no radar because of manual transmission.

CarazyDiamond
Guest
CarazyDiamond
1 month ago

For some reasons most Hyundai & KIA cars starts from clean sheet of Audi inspired designs ( the boss, perhaps) and then end up as Ford’s popular cars… this one is so close to the Focus. I guess the Hyundai salesperson would say well if you’re looking for a Ford Focus, we made one too. And then we throwing our 100g in ngoni warranty…

Abdullah Dari
Guest
Abdullah Dari
1 month ago

Mazda3 sport is the Better hatchback.

LUCIA JAVORCEKOVA VS SARA SAMPAIO, hot challenge (Slovakia 🇸🇰 – 🇵🇹 Portugal)

Fernanda Vasconcellos – Netflix show Girls from Ipanema