New BMW 1 Series 2021 review - see why it's better... And worse than before.
in

New BMW 1 Series 2021 review – see why it's better… And worse than before.

On the lookout for your next car? Head to to find the right car from the right dealer, at the right price.
…………………………………………………….

This is the new BMW 1 Series!

Now we know that most of you BMW fan boys will already be reaching for that down vote button given it’s front-wheel drive, but wait! Have you taken the time to really study BMW’s latest small hatchback to see exactly where it’s evolved compared to the old model?

We know a lot of you will miss the RWD, but given there’s so much competition in this market from the likes of the new A-Class, A3 and Golf, is the introduction of front-wheel drive really enough to turn you away from BMW? You’ll have to keep watching to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:39 Price
01:06 Exterior Design
02:45 Engines
03:22 0 – 60mph
03:50 Interior Design
04:37 Back Seats
05:45 Boot
06:40 Five Annoying Features
07:33 Five Good Features
09:07 Town Driving
10:12 Motorway Driving
11:06 Twisty Road Driving
12:03 Drifting
12:47 Drivetrain
14:20 Infotainment
15:08 Practicality
16:33 Trims
17:45 Verdict

BMW 1 Series 118i M Sport Specifications:

RRP: £26,685
Fuel economy: 46 mpg combined (40 city, 66 highway)
Horsepower: 136hp
Towing capacity: 1,300 kg
Engine: 1.5 L 3-cylinder
Kerb weight: 1,365 kg

…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1834 points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
25 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
1 month ago

Answer this question: The best new hatchback available to buy today is… ?

Imran Mahmud
Guest
Imran Mahmud
1 month ago

would you really spend 27k on a 1 series, when with the same price you can get a used but perfect quality and still new: Mercedes e class and even S class, BMW 5 series, range rover evoqe and sport, jaguar xj, Porsche macan, you can even get a 2010 Bentley (which are still really nice), you can get an Audi q7 and the possibilities are endless. I can name so many cars which are a billion times better than a 1 series for 27 grand. Yes the cars might be used, but they would still be perfect quality and low mileage.
Just check out autotrader.

Kaito
Guest
Kaito
1 month ago

Why oh why it doesn't have 120i version… 4 cylinder 2 litre petrol engine with 180HP. I don't want 3 cylinder and I don't need 300HP+ beast either

Roberto Bianco
Guest
Roberto Bianco
1 month ago

42 l of tank is just ridiculous!

Paulo Mateus Guerra
Guest
Paulo Mateus Guerra
1 month ago

FWD 1 Series is the biggest mistake I've ever seen. Sooner than later these will all be electric and they surely will make it RWD. Golf GTI/R is now the best hatchback option.

ZiGa:S
Guest
ZiGa:S
1 month ago

14:48 I thought all classes get this fancy screen. The digital imitation of analog thing is just sad. Like you said disgusting :'(
If I have to choose, I will always have analog over any digital speed and rev meters.

Gaming Norwegian
Guest
Gaming Norwegian
1 month ago

Honestly, the dude thats taken the lead of the BMW design department (he used to only be in charge of the M-division designs before, a job he seemed to handle SO MUCH BETTER) NEEDS to get demoted again… He got no clue what he is doing, nearly all the BMWs from this generation are hideous. The BMW 8 series looks good, but its literally a copy cat Mustang (die hard BMW fanbois are already getting triggered, i can feel it), the 7 series looks like its eaten its predecessor, the 6 series GT looks horrible (all GT cars BMW are currently making looks HORRIBLE, especially the 3 series GT..). G30 5 series looks good, but the LCI model is a serious downgrade in looks… The headlights are literally copied from the VW golf, no longer angel eyes at all (which is ironic, since the new VW tiguan got angel eyes…). New 4 series looks like a rabbit, it looks like its not only eaten its predecessor, but the predecessors predecessor again as well (the E92). Even tho i gotta admit the new M4 looks better than the base 4 series. 3 series looks good even tho the headlights there as well arent gorgeous by any means (it just seems like the designers had to find a way to differentiate it from the 5 series, so they just added a cutout to the headlight)… The new 2 series looks like it belongs in a dumpster, even 2-series active tourer and Gran tourer looks better. Then we have this thing that they call the "1-series", no lines match up, the headlights are angled so much that the car just looks deformed, the grill is just slapped on there and the rear of it is a straight copy of the Lexus CT200h. There, BMW rant over, get this designer out of here and bring in another that actually knows what the hell he is doing…

Ben Cridge
Guest
Ben Cridge
1 month ago

Looks exactly like the a class

Pesar25
Guest
Pesar25
1 month ago

This car looks like an Hyundai i30

Anthony Parker
Guest
Anthony Parker
1 month ago

The 1 series was always a dog, new front end is just awful. Just plain ugly and brash

Ahmed G
Guest
Ahmed G
1 month ago

Worse looking bmw in a long time

Erik H
Guest
Erik H
1 month ago

bmw has been doing a terrible job lately. all the new models look horrendous

craig orford
Guest
craig orford
1 month ago

As this car evolves the grill gets worse,In fact it looks hideous the looks bland,And for £24,500 I could buy a better car that looks nicer

SBA
Guest
SBA
1 month ago

BMW saying that most previous 1-series drivers did not even know that their car had rear wheel drive or they did not know what RWD meant, is such a cheap and foolish argument, a blame for most european BMW fans. Better would be to at least admit that producing a front wheel driven 1-series at the same selling price of the previous RWD-version is much more profitable.

Privo di Senso
Guest
Privo di Senso
1 month ago

Really bad job from the designers. Looks like a Lancia Delta from the front.

Keir barber
Guest
Keir barber
1 month ago

The previous version was a superb design! And future classic. This one is very boring:(

iiAbxshiru
Guest
iiAbxshiru
1 month ago

Us Americans will probably get the sedan version rather than the hatchback if we do get the 1 series

Pagiel Ibrahim
Guest
Pagiel Ibrahim
1 month ago

my 2011 kia optima has more hp than the this d 118 it has 178 hp

Confederate Nationalist
Guest
Confederate Nationalist
1 month ago

I seem to remember that's what BMC said when it replaced A40, Cambridge, Westminster with Mini and 1100 and Allegro and Maxi then went running back to make the Marina quick. Triumph with the 1300 and the Acclaim and Rover with 800.Ford with Mondeo and Opel with the Vectra.That all ended well.
Meanwhile has anyone seen the residual values of Monaros and VXR8's and Omegas.Or to be precise the appreciation rates.
My guess is the bean counters lied.Buyers do know the difference no point in having the badge without the car to go with it.

mlnd18
Guest
mlnd18
1 month ago

good review as always but So many ads!!! Really annoying

25500X
Guest
25500X
1 month ago

looks like an abortion compared to the previous version

Gregory UK
Guest
Gregory UK
1 month ago

People who purchased not knowing it's front wheel drive should be embarrassed. I'll be embarrassed for them cos they won't know how.

Bhuiyan Khalid
Guest
Bhuiyan Khalid
1 month ago

Mat, you just read my mind when you said the back looks like a 3-series touring! Are you a mind-reader?!

przemkecovers
Guest
przemkecovers
1 month ago

7:08 I have completely no idea what you're saying

BeingGood
Guest
BeingGood
1 month ago

Why is this not in the US D:

Let's splash around together

Let’s splash around together

Young Jessica Biel and pokies

Young Jessica Biel and pokies