Polestar 1 review - is it really worth £140K?
in

Polestar 1 review – is it really worth £140K?

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….

This is the Polestar 1!

It’s been a long-time coming, but Mat’s finally got his hands on the first car produced by Volvo’s performance division since they’ve gone it alone!

When it comes to the looks, there’s no denying that the Polestar 1 is a gorgeous set of wheels. Not only that, but you’ll also be doing your bit for the environment if you invest in one of these, as it’s a plug-in hybrid that can drive for 77 miles on electric power alone – the most of any PHEV available today!

But just because it’s a hybrid doesn’t mean it’s down on power, as under the bonnet you’ll find a 2-litre supercharged engine which, along with two electric motors, can deliver 609hp and an amazing 1000Nm!

Sadly, there’s one downside… It costs £139,000!!! So, is it worth it? You’ll have to keep watching to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:43 Price
01:34 Exterior Design
03:04 Interior
04:30 Practicality
05:03 Infotainment
05:53 Back Seats
07:13 Boot
08:28 Five Annoying Features
10:28 Five Good Features
12:16 Engines & Hybrid Tech
13:38 0 – 60mph
14:46 Drifting
16:50 Everyday Driving
19:52 Twisty Road Driving
22:22 Verdict

Bentley Continental GT Review –

Polestar 2 Review –

…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

Sign Up to our Newsletter –

.



What do you think?

693 Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
45 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
6 days ago

If you could, would you really spend £140k on a Polestar 1?!

If not, what would you buy instead? Let us know BELOW!

wiltzu81
Guest
wiltzu81
6 days ago

It's just a Volvo. In Finland we have always joked about VOLVO by letters in its name in Finnish: "Valitamme Ostosta Lähetämme VaraOsia" meaning We regret/are sorry about your purchase and will send spare parts.

We actually have lots of similar letter based "nick names" for cars:

BMW = Baader-Meinhof Wagen (former terrorist organization from Germany, officially known as Rote Armee Fraktion, if someone didn't know + car. They actually even used to drive BMW cars…) (Do Germans themselves by the way use this wonderful nick name for BMW?)
BMW = Baijerilainen Munan Wenytin = Penis enlargement pump from Bavaria
FORD =Fix or repair daily (such a international wibe with nick name in English…LOL)
KIA = Köyhien Ihmisten Auto = car for poor people
KIA = Kuulaiden ihmisten Auto = car for bald people
Opel = Olen Pilannut Elämäni Lopullisesti = I have ruined my life for ever
Opel = Onnellisen Pojan Ensi Lelu = First toy for happy boy
Skoda = Skeida = shit (not truly by letters, but Finnish metaphor with twisted/witty meaning is well established in daily life for the car make)
Toyota = Toi ota (jos et muuta saa) = Take that (if you can't get anything else)
Volkswagen = Hitlerwagen (not truly by letters but anyway)

Just a few to name. 🙂

Anyway keep doing your great reviews. I really love your car videos. 😀

Atul Shaurya
Guest
Atul Shaurya
6 days ago

He put his Burberry jacket on the floor. Matt is rich!

Nightdown Fox
Guest
Nightdown Fox
6 days ago

What hurts even more is that the 2021 Model 3 Performance that you just reviewed costs more half this and hits 60 in 3.2 seconds… and does silent donuts

CHIRANTAN M S
Guest
CHIRANTAN M S
6 days ago

Rear lights look like the new volvo sedans

Kripto
Guest
Kripto
6 days ago

Front: 10/10
Side: 5/10
Rear: WhatTheActual/10

Eric
Guest
Eric
6 days ago

I do love the shape and curves of this car. The price, performance, etc is disappointing. I was also disappointed by the rather typical Volvo interior. Matt is absolutely right though, it would be far better as an Audi A5 priced competitor without the carbon fiber, hybrid, etc.

M A
Guest
M A
6 days ago

Why must you double up on the ads? 10mins in and I've had enough.

paddy lyons
Guest
paddy lyons
6 days ago

Meet government guidelines for building one electric car …. Tick

T0mmy
Guest
T0mmy
6 days ago

Looks like a remake of p1800

Victor
Guest
Victor
6 days ago

I have driven this car. It's an S60 with better performance. It looks good but it definitely doesn't feel like a 140K car. More like 70-80K. It's also very impractical with the rear seats taking forever to access and the boot being small.

*TAREK*
Guest
*TAREK*
6 days ago

Toyota has Lexus
Nissan has Infinity
VolksWagen has Bentley
Hyundai has Genesis
Volvo has Volvo… I mean Polestar

Sten
Guest
Sten
6 days ago

Looks like a volvo

def
Guest
def
6 days ago

If you want a super coupe, just buy an RS5, M4 or an E63 coupe.

This is poo.

MLWATKK
Guest
MLWATKK
6 days ago

You have 600+ HP… But not when you want, only when WE want you to…

Cava Vision
Guest
Cava Vision
6 days ago

Yeah! Just turn this Polestar into a regular Volvo 2 or 4wd with or without a hybrid version, and a best-seller is born. Less than half the price and all of the appeal.
Exclusive it is, but from an engineering and commercial perspective, not a good move at all.
A little to long, but a fine review as always nonetheless.

OddJobMTB
Guest
OddJobMTB
6 days ago

140k for a Chinese car, bargain.

Sonny
Guest
Sonny
6 days ago

Or you could get a full spec RS6 and some money to go on holiday..

It can't rain all the time
Guest
It can't rain all the time
6 days ago

I wanted to watch because of the cars color in the thumbnail. It's not even close to that color in the video. Disappointing.
Regardless, still a gorgeous car.

Mvelo Mbali
Guest
Mvelo Mbali
6 days ago

Thought it was Volvo S

Ed Dillage
Guest
Ed Dillage
6 days ago

£140,000 for a Chinese Volvo? What a disaster waiting to happen! Skoda Superb any day of the week! Plus you save £100,000!

BenPBL
Guest
BenPBL
6 days ago

Rather pointless car. I’d go for a BMW M8 instead

SNORKYMEDIA
Guest
SNORKYMEDIA
6 days ago

that boot space is ridiculous for a "grand tourer"

Futbol Nerds
Guest
Futbol Nerds
6 days ago

that pretend conversation was accurate af

SNORKYMEDIA
Guest
SNORKYMEDIA
6 days ago

wow even secondhand this is going to be way more than it is worth….

klaxorcyvr
Guest
klaxorcyvr
6 days ago

Way too overpriced, for that amount of money you can get much better german cars, in quality and design!

CASUALBOY101
Guest
CASUALBOY101
6 days ago

2:12 That's Michael Scott moment right there lol

Daumex
Guest
Daumex
6 days ago

Gorgeous car but not worth the 911 Turbo price.

jooky87
Guest
jooky87
6 days ago

Nice car

App Mail
Guest
App Mail
6 days ago

…so we are not going to talk about his outfit.. and that jacket?! the jacket should get same review as the car 😀
JK @carwow you loook fab Matti-boy

Cody
Guest
Cody
6 days ago

the exterior looks like if honda tried to make a BMW and the interior looks like Lincoln tried to make a cadillac interior lmaoo

Amer Al Marzouqi
Guest
Amer Al Marzouqi
6 days ago

Is this the first car Matt tells us to avoid?

Tim Bochard
Guest
Tim Bochard
6 days ago

ford mustang?

Hello There
Guest
Hello There
6 days ago

Over 600 horsepower 1000 NM of torque and only 4.3 seconds 0-60.

You’ve got to be a huge mug to buy this monstrosity.

Manny Calavera
Guest
Manny Calavera
6 days ago

I feel like this would have been a niche car even at half the price. At this current price it is pretty much a concept car. Who the hell is going to buy it over almost anything available in the price range? I think it is beautiful though. It has a bit of an American muscle car look going on but pulls it off without looking like you are on your way to a dragrace.

MrSuperGossip
Guest
MrSuperGossip
6 days ago

matt always does launch with all assists on.

Tony G
Guest
Tony G
6 days ago

At that price, will they actually sell any? Nope

Repti Lev
Guest
Repti Lev
6 days ago

For a quarter of the price this could be a good car

Chris Thompson
Guest
Chris Thompson
6 days ago

"The Front Drive system with the petrol engine and the Rear Drive motors are communicating via a Zoom call […] occasionally they talk over each other"
It's Handforth Parish Council

bar1
Guest
bar1
6 days ago

Looks like a Volvo and who cares? £140K cares! Looks like a Volvo, feels like a Volvo, priced like an Aston. Nope. Just nope.

Tal Feldman
Guest
Tal Feldman
6 days ago

It's a joke 140k I'm crying

Walid Rahoui
Guest
Walid Rahoui
6 days ago

This car is overpriced nothing spécial about it i wd rather having an RS6 or AMG 63 or Alpha quadrofoglio than this trash

Laurens van den Broek
Guest
Laurens van den Broek
6 days ago

One of the best looking cars at the moment! To bad they made it drive crappy with an insane price tag. Agree they should just make a T4/T5/T6 AWD version from this, so more people can enjoy the beautifull lines of this car

Rogier
Guest
Rogier
6 days ago

German specifications: most cars can do (much) better, understate.
Chinese specifications: promise the world, always underdeliver
Not really surprised.

Gel Ishgard
Guest
Gel Ishgard
6 days ago

Very cut car but too expensive. For this Price, I buy a Bentley Continental GT.

Alison Brie and Gillian Jacobs (aka “Dear Penthouse”) 🤤🔥

15

Lindsey Morgan – Playboy