Porsche Boxster Spyder review - see why it’s the most fun Porsche EVER!
in

Porsche Boxster Spyder review – see why it’s the most fun Porsche EVER!

On the lookout for your next car? Head to carwow.co.uk to find the right car from the right dealer, at the right price.
…………………………………………………….

This is the new Porsche 718 Spyder, and Mat thinks it’s the most fun Porsche sports car EVER! So what does it offer to claim that title, we hear you ask? Well under the bonnet, it’s packing the same 4-litre naturally-aspirated flat-six (much better than flat-four in the normal Boxster) as found in the GTS. What’s more, it’s been tuned to offer 420hp and 420Nm of torque!

In terms of price, it starts from £73,850, but when it has a top speed of 187mph and can hit 60mph in just 4.4 seconds, is it worth the price over the standard Boxster? Or should you even just pay the extra and go for the 911?! Stick with Mat to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:28 Engines
01:02 0 – 60mph
01:42 Brakes
02:43 Drivetrain
04:51 Drifting
05:17 Exterior Design
06:55 Interior Design
08:11 Practicality & Storage
09:22 Five Annoying Features
11:28 Five Good Features
12:33 Everyday Driving

Porsche 718 Spyder Specifications:
RRP: From £73,850
Horsepower: 420hp
Engine: 4.0-litre 6-cylinder
Max speed: 187 mph
Kerb weight: 1,495 kg
Transmission: 6-speed manual

…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1833 points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
46 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Should I Get It Reviews
Guest
Should I Get It Reviews
1 month ago

Also known as the "Froot" oh Mat you're hilarious!

Aby
Guest
Aby
1 month ago

it is very interesting on how porsche artificially slows down this model so not to dent 911 series sales……it has to be noted tha the boxster was first launched as a measure to counter european recession…. thus making what was back then an affordable porsche…… this car if properly set up could do 0 to 60 easily in 2 seconds

Frank McGrath
Guest
Frank McGrath
1 month ago

Stunning machine. But the roof mechanism is horrendous. And everytime he lift lifts the rear, it looks like its going to break.

lobsang tashi
Guest
lobsang tashi
1 month ago

when I watch your video you just showing humiliate the small car and when you are in a sports car or luxurious car it's different why???? those are for a different purpose and way of life.

DeltaLion1
Guest
DeltaLion1
1 month ago

…fart…

US americans
Guest
US americans
1 month ago

Cruising sounds incredibly loud.

Terrence Ellsworth
Guest
Terrence Ellsworth
1 month ago

Why do so many people have trouble pronouncing PORSCHE? It's not PORSCHE, it's PORSCH-UH.

Chin Chenzo
Guest
Chin Chenzo
1 month ago

Too many adverts

moto bazuka
Guest
moto bazuka
1 month ago

I hate the long gearing

Enjoy The Vroom
Guest
Enjoy The Vroom
1 month ago

Hey, Matt, my gay hairdresser is 6 foot 5 inches tall about 280 lbs of lean muscle. He does not have that stereotypical "sissy boy" voice either. GOOD impression by the way…are you sure you're not a "hair dresser" too? He's more manly than any straight guy I know. Did you pay attention in your ethics training class that those type of stereotypical "impressions" of hair dressers can land you a lawsuit or negative press from the LGBT community. Just stop that crap. It's 2020 and you should be better than that. And yes, not all your subscribers are hetro.

Tom Graz
Guest
Tom Graz
1 month ago

Matt, I noticed that some of these cars have a little square box dead center on the back between the two humps. Is that an antenna for Navigation (GPS)? Yours doesn’t have it. Can I assume you didn’t get Nav in your car? Thanks

Audifyle
Guest
Audifyle
1 month ago

It's a shame how porsche neuters this car with tall gearing. No car (except maybe a bugatti) should be doing 82mph in 2nd gear. Completely defeats the purpose of that wonderful gearbox.

halcyon days
Guest
halcyon days
1 month ago

He can't even pronounce Porsche.

Danne Karlsson
Guest
Danne Karlsson
1 month ago

Great review as always but Mat, ffs, it's pronounced PorschE, not Porsch 😀

Karlis DaGreat
Guest
Karlis DaGreat
1 month ago

i can't understand why the boxter looks better than a 911

Manuth Athukorala
Guest
Manuth Athukorala
1 month ago

hi mat
please be kind enough to review a porsche 718 cayman gt4
best regards
manuth

Dse Abid
Guest
Dse Abid
1 month ago

Please review a toyota premio

Yawar riaz
Guest
Yawar riaz
1 month ago

This is the best looking interior imo.
If i had money ill buy this car right away.

James Yoh
Guest
James Yoh
1 month ago

It is a beautiful car. I love it.

david
Guest
david
1 month ago

I'm getting the same colour combination. Cheerio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yama Yaqeen
Guest
Yama Yaqeen
1 month ago

You don’t have to lift off gas pedal when shifting in GT cars for quicker 0-60

Mark Dickson
Guest
Mark Dickson
1 month ago

A 911 is incredible but I'd take a Boxter with a flat 6 and manual every single time. Can't beat a mid mounted engine, tho that spider roof looks ridiculous, surely Porsche of all companies could have done better. Love the fact its available with a manual, getting this type of vehicle without a manual makes no sense (hint hint jag), and a turbo I4 should never be in any vehicle from Porsche. They do take the piss with their options pricing, no wonder its the most profitable brand

Czechbound
Guest
Czechbound
1 month ago

Matt does the best car reviews on YT

Eivind Nes
Guest
Eivind Nes
1 month ago

Why use liters for the boot volume and gallons for fuel? Go full metric already!

Jorge
Guest
Jorge
1 month ago

5:55 except for the fake diffuser

Robbie McKeegan
Guest
Robbie McKeegan
1 month ago

8:45 How a very normal person screams when they are stuck in the boot.

paul taylor
Guest
paul taylor
1 month ago

Lovely Jubbly, daft as ever.

Tariq
Guest
Tariq
1 month ago

The plate

Nice

squala
Guest
squala
1 month ago

The roof is actually a massive improvement over the previous Boxster Spyder, which is literally a tent and you would have gotten pneumonia by the time you’re finished putting it up.

Michael Gallart
Guest
Michael Gallart
1 month ago

It’s not a Boxter Spyder. It’s a 718 GTS 4.0.

fireoil
Guest
fireoil
1 month ago

Its great. You can have a proper sport car without all the options. It's like last of his kind.

G R
Guest
G R
1 month ago

For a nano second the rear end made me think of the Carrera GT

William boyle
Guest
William boyle
1 month ago

Porsche is pronounced in German PORSCHA, not POORSCH!

swede swede
Guest
swede swede
1 month ago

Matt YOUR GUNS LOOK BETTER EVERY TIME.. WOOOOOF

Jon Page
Guest
Jon Page
1 month ago

Too much road noise, got bored and watched another video.

C'mon guys, you're a professional outfit, get yourself some proper training on audio repair.

William John
Guest
William John
1 month ago

Couldnt watch all the way through due to add every three mins

Blake Swan
Guest
Blake Swan
1 month ago

for nearly The price of a manual 911, you can get a Boxter with 6 cylinders. Porsche is the winner here as a 6 cylinder use to be available on all levels of Boxter

Paulo Sà
Guest
Paulo Sà
1 month ago

I Mat. Thanks for the video. But, can you review the Boxster GTS 4.0 please?
I think it's better value for the money, and maybe better car to buy as a almost every day car.

lone TUSKER
Guest
lone TUSKER
1 month ago

https://youtu.be/Iot0eF6EoNA A kind request to the fraternity… please join the movement by making this the most disliked video on YouTube..

Aitch
Guest
Aitch
1 month ago

I live in Canada, do they sell it with one gear? 2nd,3rd,4th,5th and 6th are just pointless.

V12S65AMG
Guest
V12S65AMG
1 month ago

manual………. BUUUUUEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Corban Cutten
Guest
Corban Cutten
1 month ago

Use clutch pieces

Dooya Punk
Guest
Dooya Punk
1 month ago

Why bother with such a complicated fuel saving measure like turning of one bank of cylinders on a rotating basis?
If your'e buying 90k sportscar capable of 187 mph, and your worried about a few extra pounds a week in fuel costs, maybe you just buy a diesel Panda.

OT
Guest
OT
1 month ago

A very cool car indeed

Javier Medina
Guest
Javier Medina
1 month ago

Amazing spec!

smoked vanQ
Guest
smoked vanQ
1 month ago

Cara Delevingne – HQ (1398×2100) – needs close inspection

Cira Valenzuela in Attack of the Unknown (2020)

Cira Valenzuela in Attack of the Unknown (2020)