Renault Zoe review - the best value for money EV in 2020!
in

Renault Zoe review – the best value for money EV in 2020!

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….
This is the new Renault Zoe!

Renault’s updated the Zoe to give it some new tech, tweak the design, and more importantly, they’ve fitted a new battery and motor to give it better range!

Of course, we’re not short on choice when it comes to the small EV market, with competition like the Peugeot e208 and MINI Electric already standing out from the crowd. So does the new Zoe have what it takes to go one better and become the must-have small EV of 2020?

Check out Mat’s latest review to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:35 Price
01:10 Exterior Design
03:02 Battery & Motor
03:55 0 – 60mph
04:35 Interior Design
06:16 Back Seats
07:29 Boot
08:38 Practicality
10:02 Five Annoying Things
11:51 Five Good Things
13:09 Town Driving
16:00 Motorway Driving
16:58 Twisty Road Driving
17:42 Trims
18:33 Infotainment
19:49 Verdict

Renault Zoe Specifications – GT Line Trim:
Battery – 52kWh
Range – 245 miles
Top Speed – 87mph
Acceleration – 9.5 seconds
Power – 135hp
…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1833 points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
30 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
1 month ago

So would you choose the new Zoe over the Peugeot e208 or MINI Electric?!

kahi_kahi
Guest
kahi_kahi
1 month ago

Renault is the by far the European leader even ahead of Tesla in 2020 in sales numbers . normal because they have launched the zoe in 2012 , they are more experienced in EV thaN PEug and Mini

Mason Wyatt
Guest
Mason Wyatt
1 month ago

2020 Clio next !!!!!!

Matthew Pitt
Guest
Matthew Pitt
1 month ago

Nobody ever charges from 0-100%. More realistic rapid charge timing would be how long it takes from 20-80% which is what you'd do on a roadtrip. It's probably about 40mins so a lunch stop at a service station.

Andrew Gardner
Guest
Andrew Gardner
1 month ago

I can loads of small component sharing with other Renault brands like Dacia etc

Ankur Mehrotra
Guest
Ankur Mehrotra
1 month ago

This was my favorite rental car until a few months ago when it decided to simply stop on a highway, with errors which made no sense. Maybe the new model is nicer but it feels like a cheaper car inside for that price. Usually I am not a fan of Matt's cribbing about plasticiky bits, but here he is spot on!

The good part, when it runs its very easy to handle, very quiet (duh!) and its probably a good city car. On motorway, I felt it struggles. It is an entry level car and at that its very good.

ThePuffin77
Guest
ThePuffin77
1 month ago

Those 15" alloy wheels look suspiciously like steel wheels with hub caps.

Con Chalmers
Guest
Con Chalmers
1 month ago

Best value for money? Are you aware of MG?

Dan Chatka
Guest
Dan Chatka
1 month ago

Seems like a good car for the money, and for narrow streets.

Frazing
Guest
Frazing
1 month ago

Matt у тебя крутой канал. Нам не хватает твоего британского акцента.

Osquar
Guest
Osquar
1 month ago

So if you live in a flat you're screwed.

fadzlen kadir
Guest
fadzlen kadir
1 month ago

Matt and Yianni drag race in these cars…

beast cfuhroenvruhofcnrvhurfevneouff
Guest
beast cfuhroenvruhofcnrvhurfevneouff
1 month ago

thats not the cheapest electric car

Mark Dickson
Guest
Mark Dickson
1 month ago

I thought I really liked this vehicle and may be good for my mother. Hell no, those seats and no armrests, the boot, in fact the entire car looks like too many corners cut to reach its price which may have been ok a few years ago but much better quality on offer for similar money now.

Ken Neely
Guest
Ken Neely
1 month ago

Oh Mr. Mat. You so funny.

The Rusted Pixel
Guest
The Rusted Pixel
1 month ago

Ok, car reviewers, stop complaining about fake exhausts already! Here's a car without any and it looks like it's wearing a huge nappy. Give me fake exhausts any day. Even on an electric! Just don't give my car a nappy.

Graham, King of the Britons!
Guest
Graham, King of the Britons!
1 month ago

It needs 150 kW DC charging, no EV should take over 30mins to rapid charge to 80%. Plus it looks really girly.

William Correia
Guest
William Correia
1 month ago

I would only buy this car if I had a specific purpose for it such as living in central London where I could benefit every bloody day from its £30k cost. For everyone else in this country it just looks like a Renault kinder egg style cheap finishing car with Mercedes price

Florian J
Guest
Florian J
1 month ago

This interior is one of the cheapest I've ever seen and this car costs in Germany at least 31.000€! That's rubbish

Shane Blackburn
Guest
Shane Blackburn
1 month ago

26 fucking grand

Simon Swan
Guest
Simon Swan
1 month ago

Lots of comments say it expensive for a cheap car and it is in a way. But you can't compare it to other 30k petrol cars. Its not 30k really. Grant and CARWOW make 22k and of that about 8k is the battery (approx price per Kw is £160 x 50kw battery) So the rest of the car is £14k ish. Now you can buy a BRAND NEW renault petrol engine (Megane) for less than £1500, although not retail from your Renault dealer. So is any Megane available for £15k? Nope. Batteries are VERY expensive so until that is sorted electric cars will cost alot more than the equivalent ICE car, its just the way it is. I think the Zoe is a nice if slighlty bland and unadventurous looking car. It could just be a petrol hatchback. But electric hatches with a 200 mile range kind of cost this much. The sum is simple Smaller battery = cheaper but less range.

Kevan Crossin
Guest
Kevan Crossin
1 month ago

Add 10k and get entry level cyber truck not an electric wheel barrow.

tugan bolatlı
Guest
tugan bolatlı
1 month ago

I'm Just thinking have you ever give a verdict about avoiding a car, you Just allways give a verdict of shortlisting…

jayna reynolds
Guest
jayna reynolds
1 month ago

Musk just announced his newest electric car will cost only $25,000.00!

Mono Vision Fobia
Guest
Mono Vision Fobia
1 month ago

In snowy conditions charging point in front is sheit. Some manufactures underestimate how dangerous it is driving through the winter reversing to away ice clogging chargepoint.

JIN Khan
Guest
JIN Khan
1 month ago

now MATT understand tht why automobile makers add fake vents in their cars…!!!

Tim Rogers
Guest
Tim Rogers
1 month ago

It's a Renault. No thanks.

hsm_presents
Guest
hsm_presents
1 month ago

£1000 extra for circa 2009 50kW charging. This is 2020 today 150kW needs to be entry level charging.

Steven Yoo
Guest
Steven Yoo
1 month ago

the problem with renault's center screens is that it's way too far from any elbow rest and you end up trying to use it with your arms fully extended without any support. slightest shakes make aiming your finger an immensely annoying task.

OLgoods
Guest
OLgoods
1 month ago

30k? For this? Huh?

Isabella Farrell in “Becks”

Rosario Dawson in “Trance”