Skoda Octavia vRS review - better than a Golf GTI?
in

Skoda Octavia vRS review – better than a Golf GTI?

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….

Introducing the all-new Skoda Octavia vRS!

So, what will you find in the vRS that you don’t get with the normal Octavia? Well under the bonnet, you’ll have a choice of petrol, diesel or hybrid engines. We’ve got the petrol here, which is a 2-litre turbo petrol that can produce 245hp & 370Nm.

As for design upgrades, you’ll find redesigned & sportier bumpers at the front and back, as well as an updated grille. Whilst inside, you’ll find a number of upgrades, from sports seats through to alcantara on the dash. And of course, don’t forget masses of red stitching throughout! After all, red means sporty, of course.

So, it all sounds pretty good, right? But is it enough to tempt you away from the all-new VW Golf GTI? It may be slightly cheaper than the GTI, but is that enough? You’ll have to stick with Mat for his latest in-depth review to find out!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:38 Price
01:07 Exterior Design
02:30 Interior
03:54 Back Seats
04:35 Boot
05:04 Five Annoying Things
06:23 Five Cool Things
07:11 Engines
08:44 0 – 60mph
10:36 Twisty Road Driving
12:25 Town Driving
13:53 Motorway Driving
15:19 Verdict
…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1.8k Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
26 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
1 month ago

We're quite liking the new Octavia vRS, but what do you think – would you choose it over the VW Golf GTI or Ford Focus ST? VOTE with a LIKE in the comments we've posted below!

Marlboro M2C
Guest
Marlboro M2C
1 month ago

VW will never let Skoda evolve beyond the performance of the owner brand.

Whayne Padden
Guest
Whayne Padden
1 month ago

Those are some damn ugly wheels.

1carus John
Guest
1carus John
1 month ago

Cann't remember if it was Tiff or Clarkson that described Hot Hatches as having a wheel at each corner. Once anything is over hanging, hatch or not, it stops being a Hatchback I'm afraid.

Metallica Fan!
Guest
Metallica Fan!
1 month ago

Never really liked Skoda but this is art. Looks better than Audis or BMWs at this price!

sheldonv8
Guest
sheldonv8
1 month ago

That black grill is ugly and cheap looking.

Saeglopur89
Guest
Saeglopur89
1 month ago

5:17 because you are sitting on a wrong side 😛

Disprot
Guest
Disprot
1 month ago

try tro pronounce it as shkoda

Richard Todd
Guest
Richard Todd
1 month ago

Why is there not a vrs SUV or something. I don't want to look like a taxi driver.

roboman3678
Guest
roboman3678
1 month ago

Why can't we get skoda here in the us. I like there cars for the most part. And I would like more small diesel hatches and sedans from Europe in the us. And more manual options on cars. It would be cool to get them.

qopoy dnon
Guest
qopoy dnon
1 month ago

Yes finally matt u made it ,was waiting for this a long time

La_micka
Guest
La_micka
1 month ago

Why there is no RWD, 200hp+ car with manual shifting and 4 seats? :´((((

Simon Curtis
Guest
Simon Curtis
1 month ago

Cars sound soooooo lame these days

Elestro Air-soft
Guest
Elestro Air-soft
1 month ago

Yeah, boot and rear seats are massive because the car is massive. Hardly something one wants from a hot hatch though.

Gayashan Chanuka
Guest
Gayashan Chanuka
1 month ago

It looks like a BMW and an Audi at the same time.

Kabuterrimon DW
Guest
Kabuterrimon DW
1 month ago

This car looks beautiful for a Skoda, the front especially

NomadJRG
Guest
NomadJRG
1 month ago

Way to little power for a top of the range model, really should be nudging 300bhp at least in this day and age.

Mk732
Guest
Mk732
1 month ago

Defo looks way better than the Mk8 GTI

Unboxing Sve
Guest
Unboxing Sve
1 month ago

Maybe I will be able afford it in 2030 🙂

Attila Gabor K
Guest
Attila Gabor K
1 month ago

Used to like his reviews, now they’re just plain boring. He’s like bitching about everything.

Trev Eves
Guest
Trev Eves
1 month ago

You're slagging this but shooting your load about the Audi A3?!

Floris M
Guest
Floris M
1 month ago

It's not the driving mode button that is on the wrong side, It's the steeringwheel

Ext0rti0nist.
Guest
Ext0rti0nist.
1 month ago

i would get the hybrid cuz awd

Petko Krushev
Guest
Petko Krushev
1 month ago

I just can't imagine anyone being excited about this car

Jonny Hall
Guest
Jonny Hall
1 month ago

The side profile of the Skoda looks like a kia stinger

Mihai Ştețco
Guest
Mihai Ştețco
1 month ago

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.
John 3: 16

Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.
Mark 16: 16

“…..Repent, for the kingdom of heaven has come near.”
Matthew 3: 2

Viki Odintcova showoff her amazing sexy body

Nelya Lukavenko (Donna T)