The Skoda Scala is the BEST value car in the world! Review
in

The Skoda Scala is the BEST value car in the world! Review

This is the new Skoda Scala! It’s the latest hatchback to join Skoda’s range of family cars and it starts from a gloriously cheap price of just under £17,000! It’s designed to go head-to-head with the likes of the Ford Focus and VW Golf, but at such a low starting price, can the Scala really bring the fight to these world-renowned class-leaders? Keep watching to find out!

carwow Germany –

carwow Latin America (Spanish) –

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1833 points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
44 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jonathan Chua
Guest
Jonathan Chua
1 month ago

I own the predecessor (Skoda Rapid Spaceback 1.4 TSI) in Singapore. It isn't the most popular car where I live but for the price, it really does kick ass against its Japanese/Korean rivals (Mazda/Honda/Toyota/Hyundai/Kia) when it comes to performance. Against its "continental" car rivals (VW/Audi/Volvo), the main draw is the price point. I think Skoda provides some of the best value if you look past its brand… it is what it is esp since it uses VW engines. I call Skoda the VW = Value Wagon!

Ticotube
Guest
Ticotube
1 month ago

Regarding the panoramic sunroof: I drove a fully equiped BMW Model 5 lately and could not find the key for opening the roof. I didn't bother to look for it long. I guess that makes a medium-tier Skoda a perfect match for me 😉

Any Scala owners around? How do you Like it?

Arjun Prashad
Guest
Arjun Prashad
1 month ago

It's a hatchback!

Dariusz Rysak
Guest
Dariusz Rysak
1 month ago

I like Skoda's ideas… some of them are obvious and necessary and this is when Skoda hits its spot.

Brian
Guest
Brian
1 month ago

Why concern yourself over whether it's a hatchback or an estate? If the practicality suits you, then it doesn't matter which it is….. I like the look of the Scala. I have a Golf Mk 7 at the moment, but I won't be changing it for a Mk8, so I may go for the Scala.

Es Pozito
Guest
Es Pozito
1 month ago

Rapid and Scala are the prettiest Skoda cars. Nicer than Superb or other one

Tomáš Novák
Guest
Tomáš Novák
1 month ago

That smirk

Ryan Dias
Guest
Ryan Dias
1 month ago

This lad is so funny I watch his videos all day hahaha

paul dennis
Guest
paul dennis
1 month ago

Jeez this guy is so far up his ass !

Herceg
Guest
Herceg
1 month ago

Rather Scala than that ugly looking golf 8. Can’t believe VW made such ugly car. It looks like the car has a headache.

Yanuchi Uchiha: Anime, Games and Ramdomness
Guest
Yanuchi Uchiha: Anime, Games and Ramdomness
1 month ago

An interesting tidbit, the Skoda Scala is spelled with a "c" due to the fact that the Skala with a "k" is owned by Zastava,

FM Volt
Guest
FM Volt
1 month ago

Reminds me of a better priced Audi A3, great car!

Front 242
Guest
Front 242
1 month ago

The replacement for the arsed up suspensioned Toledo,lol lol lol.

i am who i am
Guest
i am who i am
1 month ago

I think it is a hybrid of a hatchback and a wagon (what we call it where I live).

jh5kl
Guest
jh5kl
1 month ago

then again its faster than most land rovers

allgoo 19
Guest
allgoo 19
1 month ago

I've never heard of Skoda before.
This is what I found,
Skoda:

Škoda Auto

( ŠKODA AUTO ( Czech pronunciation: [ˈʃkoda] listen )), commonly called Škoda, is a Czech automobile manufacturer founded in 1895 as Laurin & Klement and headquartered in Mladá Boleslav, Czech Republic. In 1925 Laurin & Klement was acquired by the industrial conglomerate Škoda Works, which itself became state owned in 1948.


It's a Czech automaker founded in 1895, now owned by VW.

Aryrix 1
Guest
Aryrix 1
1 month ago

Wtf is a Skoda. I'm American.

Magnus Persson
Guest
Magnus Persson
1 month ago

The door closing sound at 18:08 isn´t the most solid…

LFC markeb
Guest
LFC markeb
1 month ago

very derogatory from mat AGAIN!! when reviewing less than perceived premium brand cars! getting old that!

nabil tech
Guest
nabil tech
1 month ago

estate of course like the kia proceed

Eduardo Santiago
Guest
Eduardo Santiago
1 month ago

I mean, it's a really ood car, but it's really ugly.

Stu
Guest
Stu
1 month ago

A bit like a golf….

Paddy Mc
Guest
Paddy Mc
1 month ago

Genuinely don't know why the Top Gear people haven't tapped this guy up. He's way more entertaining than any of the current lot and look, he comes with a preexisting fanbase and proof that his style is popular.

jumpinjacques
Guest
jumpinjacques
1 month ago

What is this trend of tiny modern engines? Don’t say fuel economy, 41mpg is not progress from cars 20 years ago.

pirdun100
Guest
pirdun100
1 month ago

Did that umbrella make you dryer or wetter?

Chips1889
Guest
Chips1889
1 month ago

And you get a real handbrake!!!!
Does it have auto folding mirrors?

Andrea Farrugia
Guest
Andrea Farrugia
1 month ago

Estate

Peter Möller
Guest
Peter Möller
1 month ago

I think Audi A3…

veschyoleg
Guest
veschyoleg
1 month ago

On a proper estate, the cargo cover should be retractable, not rigid. Hence, this is a hatchback.

Seckin Tuncer
Guest
Seckin Tuncer
1 month ago

What is the "special app" for measure 0-60 mph acceleration on 5:15 ?

Qiu Kong
Guest
Qiu Kong
1 month ago

9:05 So ugly !!!

User495739207420
Guest
User495739207420
1 month ago

I absolutely hate the Skoda Scala, and I’m saying this as an current Octavia owner. The Scala is a CHEAP car, yet it allowed Skoda to push the Octavia 4 price sky high making it completely unappealing. At least the Rapid gave about the same quality, but was priced accordingly. I just hate it, sorry.

Dominator and who cares anyways
Guest
Dominator and who cares anyways
1 month ago

Its kinda sad how VW forbids Skoda to do anything better than they do. They cant even make Vans because VW has the transporter

Chris Michal
Guest
Chris Michal
1 month ago

It's not an estate, neither a hatchback… It's a Skoda!

theonlyJigzopm
Guest
theonlyJigzopm
1 month ago

It's that rear quarter glass panel that gives it the estate look makes the c pillar look alot further away than it really is

skippymon
Guest
skippymon
1 month ago

What timing app is that?

Walter Pfannschmidt
Guest
Walter Pfannschmidt
1 month ago

C'mon Watson, I like it when you look confused, so cute!

Jan Willem v.d. Gronden
Guest
Jan Willem v.d. Gronden
1 month ago

Modern version of the old Fabia. Like it!

Bilal Samsudeen
Guest
Bilal Samsudeen
1 month ago

I am with Jack, it is a hatchback because the rear overhang is not long enough! VOTE: Hatchback or Estate!

AminShaikh Aminshaikh
Guest
AminShaikh Aminshaikh
1 month ago

Mat, nice jacket, send me the link or store place buyed from

BRORO DA GAMER
Guest
BRORO DA GAMER
1 month ago

Peugeot 208/508/2008 way better for the price

BURC YRLMZ
Guest
BURC YRLMZ
1 month ago

Do you think the interior material quality and sound insulation are at a premium level?

murat kelleci
Guest
murat kelleci
1 month ago

Totally disagree, another 4 wheeled square junk!

Leo Ipek
Guest
Leo Ipek
1 month ago

7:06 ded

Jaime Pressly in Poison Ivy: The New Seduction

Jaime Pressly in Poison Ivy: The New Seduction

Play us a song, Rita Ora...

Play us a song, Rita Ora…