VW Golf GTI 2021 review - is the MK8 the best yet?
in

VW Golf GTI 2021 review – is the MK8 the best yet?

Need help buying your next car? Click and my team and I will help you choose your ideal car at a fair price – from Mat Watson!
…………………………………………………….

The all-new Golf GTI is HERE!

Volkswagen’s mid-level sporty edition of the Mk8 Golf rolls up with all the classic hot hatch styling cues you’d expect, from the classic red striping across the bonnet (and throughout the cabin!) along with a more aggressive, honeycomb-style grille.

As for performance, well it’s certainly not too bad, as you’ll find a 2-litre turbocharged petrol engine that will deliver 245hp and 370Nm.

Sure, so it all sounds pretty good! The question is, does it really offer enough to sway you away from the competition? And more importantly, with the new Golf R already announced and just around the corner, are you better off just waiting for the GTI’s big brother?

There’s only one way to find out… Sit back, relax, and join Mat for his latest in-depth review!

Chapters
00:00 Intro
00:38 Price
01:06 Exterior Design
02:39 Interior & Infotainment
04:20 Back Seats
04:58 Boot
05:21 Five Annoying Things
06:59 Five Cool Things
08:15 0 – 60mph
09:37 Twisty Road Driving
10:35 Town Driving
11:24 Motorway Driving
12:45 Verdict
…………………………………………………….

Tiktok –

.



What do you think?

1.8k Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
42 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
carwow
Guest
carwow
28 days ago

07:30 – Oops! We obviously didn't mean it's 0.3 Cd more aerodynamic. The new Golf GTI has improved over its predecessor from 0.3 to 0.275! That's still pretty slippery…

Alberto Day
Guest
Alberto Day
28 days ago

Im going to be honest, i really hate that cars are all going digital and touch sensitive. That just add extra costs for little cool look.

k. Hajji
Guest
k. Hajji
28 days ago

Seventh generation is way better than this.

em1ownerify
Guest
em1ownerify
28 days ago

The inside is gross

Mike Bianchette
Guest
Mike Bianchette
28 days ago

Damn… it looks a lot better than the pics release by vw. It’s starting to grow on me

Anonymous Anonymous
Guest
Anonymous Anonymous
28 days ago

I'm more interested in your mobile
Which phone ?

M
Guest
M
28 days ago

Yikes, when volks start looking like hyundai's

bender diver
Guest
bender diver
28 days ago

The stripped out golf, no knobs, no ovride on anti dazle rear view mirror, no covers on door locks, no draws under seats,
No lock on glove box, no door on centre console no draw drivers side,where u put tissues,glasses cleaning cloth and deodorant,no slide draw over centre cup holders no bass strut under bonnet .yes they have got back to the sevenys and Put a stick there to hold bonnet up,the 2.0ltr tdi is only 130 hp not 150 the info screen is at eye level and ruins night vision
How the xxxx can you safely operate the heating etc from a multi touch screen while driving,crap i am not getting no more golfs, cheap cheap cheap,shame shame shame ,

bjjbrawler1
Guest
bjjbrawler1
28 days ago

Oh man you killed my dreams of this version with a manual! I drove the current gen GTI w/ a manual and really liked it.. not too bad. Honda's shift feels better slightly.. although Im biased I owned an S2000, Prelude. Civic..

Jeffrey Bishop
Guest
Jeffrey Bishop
28 days ago

sorry but golf gti 5 to 7th generation is definetely for me….not this shit

Abc 123
Guest
Abc 123
28 days ago

Id much rather keep my MK6 Polo GTI. This new Golf lets down the GTI name

informedcarpet
Guest
informedcarpet
28 days ago

Ugly as.

Depressed-Eggman
Guest
Depressed-Eggman
28 days ago

Sorry VW, it's a no from me.

4GuitarTrance
Guest
4GuitarTrance
28 days ago

My old Mk 7 and now 7.5 look INCREDIBLY good to me right about now!
I think I'll just be content with what I have at this particular moment!

David
Guest
David
28 days ago

In my opinion, I actually like the design of MK8 Golf over the bland and boring design of the previous generation, but the people at VW really took the usability out of it.

Dan schin
Guest
Dan schin
28 days ago

Looks like a dogs dinner

Matthew Gwynne
Guest
Matthew Gwynne
28 days ago

These touch sensitive buttons and stupid screens need to go, hate this trend. its dangerous and just a bit shit really

Joshua Stothard
Guest
Joshua Stothard
28 days ago

Stop plugging the pop out every 2 mins, makes me want to click away.

Jack McGrath
Guest
Jack McGrath
28 days ago

Can you do a full review on a golf r if you can get hold of one

Crimbly Crimbo
Guest
Crimbly Crimbo
28 days ago

Genuinely this looks horrible, the interior looks so cheap and the touch sensitive buttons are ridiculous

Greg Skowron
Guest
Greg Skowron
28 days ago

Sorry it is only my impression but those alloys are not 21-century incarnation of swastica?

Nurul Fakhri
Guest
Nurul Fakhri
28 days ago

Only one word=ugly

Dave Searle
Guest
Dave Searle
28 days ago

Should be faster than Mk 7 and 7.5, very disappointing and along with the touch sensitive distracted driving controls will lose a lot of VW loyalists, likely including me ('16 GTI and '19 GLI)

donnykaraoke
Guest
donnykaraoke
28 days ago

Jesus, that cost £13000 more than the 2009 golf gti. Ridiculous

Incomudro
Guest
Incomudro
28 days ago

Monobrows never look good on any car.

lukman karlia
Guest
lukman karlia
28 days ago

Fugly alloys

Daniel
Guest
Daniel
28 days ago

i just bought a mk7 no aspiration to update to that shite

Kanonenfutter
Guest
Kanonenfutter
28 days ago

That dashboard is just a deal killer for me.
At that price point you can't really call it a "peoples vehicle" anymore. It's just a knock-off luxury brand.

cHa0s
Guest
cHa0s
28 days ago

05:40, I thought these cars allow one to change the ambient lighting, including the dial colour, as one wishes?

Towelie
Guest
Towelie
28 days ago

Wow that is one ugly car.

sharko punch
Guest
sharko punch
28 days ago

This is whack im sorry

Nabiev Alisherkhon
Guest
Nabiev Alisherkhon
28 days ago

my dream car as my first car

Richie Btime
Guest
Richie Btime
28 days ago

Wouldn't trust the fuel computer, more like 35mpg

Jared Mayer
Guest
Jared Mayer
28 days ago

I wish your editor would just make the audio levels consistent. It's all over the place.

Luke !
Guest
Luke !
28 days ago

Them wheels are dreadful

EskiLdn
Guest
EskiLdn
28 days ago

touch-sensitive buttons… on a steering wheel wth? this should be illegal for safety reasons alone

asdfasdfsafdsfasdf
Guest
asdfasdfsafdsfasdf
28 days ago

what a horribly boring POS car lol those touch buttons are aweful, you can't hear it and the dials are digital?? That gti is about as exciting as powering on your ipad lol. perhaps alfas breakdown more than your girlfriend every 27 days but at least they have life to them each time you sit in one.

Roger Nkosi
Guest
Roger Nkosi
28 days ago

This car is so ugly.

M.
Guest
M.
28 days ago

I hate touch sensitive buttons, everything today is made touch sensitive: microwaves, radio’s, portable phones, induction stoves, I HATE THEM ALL!!! Why does even the volume button needs to be touch sensitive. The only thing that needs to be touch sensitive is a WOMAN!!!!!!!!!

Pierre Schreuder
Guest
Pierre Schreuder
28 days ago

Don’t like the rims. Eeewww.

sanjay krishna
Guest
sanjay krishna
28 days ago

Literally touches the phone while driving:death or life in prison
Fiddles with infotainment system on the autobahn to open ur glove box: ……

ChraosGaming
Guest
ChraosGaming
28 days ago

I’m sorry but for the price compared to other hot hatches it’s just plastic and cheap looking ! Especially the interior !!!

KARLA SPICE VS SUSANNA CANZIAN, hot challenge (Venezuela 🇻🇪 – 🇮🇹 Italy)

Debi Sue Voorhees in the 1985 film “Friday the 13th Part V – A New Beginning”