VW T-Roc vs Audi Q2 review - which is best? | carwow
in

VW T-Roc vs Audi Q2 review – which is best? | carwow

There’s no shortage of choice when it comes to small SUVs, and the Audi Q2 & Volkswagen T-Roc are two of the biggest players in the business. They’re both based on their respective hatchback little brothers (the A3 and Golf), but given Volkswagen owns Audi, the two cars share many of the same parts. So are there really that many differences between the two?

Join Mat in his latest head-to-head as he puts the Q2 & T-Roc to the test to see just which one of these premium small SUVs you should go for!

.



What do you think?

1797 points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
44 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
C R
Guest
C R
26 days ago

I thought the Q2 was a competitor for the T-Cross so I was considering those two. Oops! The back styling isn't amazing but that yellow really floats my boat!!

Ben Golledge
Guest
Ben Golledge
26 days ago

It's a bit wierd that my polo has a better binicle then the t-rok it's like they are running out of money or ideas

Renato D
Guest
Renato D
26 days ago

That brittish right side is so awfull.

stefanie bravo
Guest
stefanie bravo
26 days ago

Ydyydydyd

WB Games
Guest
WB Games
26 days ago

It's been 2 years and the thumbnail is still mad infuriating

Jeffrey Ngobeni
Guest
Jeffrey Ngobeni
26 days ago

T roc rocks

william goss
Guest
william goss
26 days ago

Audi looks lovely, and looks to drive almost with (yellow) attitude …. but just occasionally I have to take friends who are 6’ and over and they won’t b comfortable in the back. End of, (not matter the colour of the car ! ).

simranjit singh
Guest
simranjit singh
26 days ago

Could you do jeep renegade review

Silver Steel
Guest
Silver Steel
26 days ago

Ride Height is NEVER detailed and yet crucial for many drivers. Why?

HappyChappy
Guest
HappyChappy
26 days ago

I have driven both. The VW feels slower off the mark and less dynamic when it comes handling, the handling on the Q2 40 TFSI is superb and feels like a true hot hatch. The interior on the Q2 feels and looks fancier, the multimedia system is non touch screen though, but I personally like that, since I don't like using touch while driving, just feels unsafe. The VW has the more sophisticated exterior from the front IMHO, but the Q2 with a black grill matches it in this respect. I ended up getting the Q2 and I absolutely love the drive, what did surprise me though is it consumes up to 50% more fuel than the claimed 6.5L when driving in the suburbs, you're realistically looking at 9.4L/100 if not higher, they really should force car manufacturers to perform more realistic fuel consumption tests.

Sem Vunderink
Guest
Sem Vunderink
26 days ago

q2
love

Be Unique
Guest
Be Unique
26 days ago

Hey Carwow.uk
In your opinion please don't bother anyone……
Which car you could suggest to buy for?
That means it completion of satisfaction

Projectile Live
Guest
Projectile Live
26 days ago

meanwhile we have 0.9 cc engines for vws renaults etc in turkey! the max is probably 1.6!

Sue Bates
Guest
Sue Bates
26 days ago

I’ve just bought a T ROC. I love it, I bought it because I have osteoporosis and need a perch and swing in seat. I’m 73 so am getting a big old for a hot hatch, but have had my moments in Alfasuds. The T ROC allows me to put stuff easily in the boot, gives me all round good vision higher up than an Audi A3 or a Golf. I find it sporty enough for my needs. Agree the finish of the dash is hard plastic but…. do I really care? Not a lot

Ali Serhat Yılmaz
Guest
Ali Serhat Yılmaz
26 days ago

For ones who says quality of the dash is unimportant: The difference comes in after long years of usage especially in sunny regions. Plastic dash simply looks like a trash while a high quality soft dashs look just like new.

Dumitru Cristinel Stefan
Guest
Dumitru Cristinel Stefan
26 days ago

TOYOTA IS THE BEST!!!

Maze
Guest
Maze
26 days ago

I don't care about the hard plastic as long as it has a good Infotainment system and comfy seats

Hayrettin Yildiz
Guest
Hayrettin Yildiz
26 days ago

Hard plastic interiors of the T-Roc is driving me crazy, looks and feels incredibly cheap!

Tiger Fire
Guest
Tiger Fire
26 days ago

Volkswagen is the winner

관조
Guest
관조
26 days ago

t-roc looks nicer..

AWhileHanlin
Guest
AWhileHanlin
26 days ago

How ugly is that stick-out screen never liked it in any of the audis. T Roc Wins overall

Vansh Vlogger
Guest
Vansh Vlogger
26 days ago

Vw

Rohan Pedgaonkar
Guest
Rohan Pedgaonkar
26 days ago

Give us a T-ROC LWB!

EraseR
Guest
EraseR
26 days ago

T ROC all day

Tobbe
Guest
Tobbe
26 days ago

for me the q2 looks just like meh it works but it defenetly isnt beutiful

Isengard Middle
Guest
Isengard Middle
26 days ago

20.000 Euro is expansive ?

Aslan Parcasi Nddnkdkdkd
Guest
Aslan Parcasi Nddnkdkdkd
26 days ago

I bought the t roc….nice car

mark jeffers
Guest
mark jeffers
26 days ago

Still having trouble deciding which suv type we should buy heads wrecked need help love volvo xc60 but I'm not made of money ffs

Sachi Pathmajan
Guest
Sachi Pathmajan
26 days ago

It'd have been great if it was a car with the Troc's exterior with the Q2's interior

Santosh Golhe
Guest
Santosh Golhe
26 days ago

I didn't like Audi's design

Gloria
Guest
Gloria
26 days ago

I love Audi's but do they give you the bang for that proverbial buck?! Plus, "dey have vays" of bleeding you dry at the service department! Have owned two Audi's but am squeamish at the thought of maintaining them for that reason.

Sajed Hussain
Guest
Sajed Hussain
26 days ago

Thank you for the info I was wondering to go for Audi q2 or Seat Leon

GARRASDEACERO999
Guest
GARRASDEACERO999
26 days ago

Desde argentina el mejor

Mohamed REKKAL
Guest
Mohamed REKKAL
26 days ago

T-Roc by far for me, VW did a good job.

Rhein
Guest
Rhein
26 days ago

When can we expect a T Roc R line review?

Eren
Guest
Eren
26 days ago

T-roc

Jackson
Guest
Jackson
26 days ago

Audi's are among the dullest looking cars on planet earth. Each model looks the same, they have no curves are boxy as. People just buy them to feed their egos

Cool story bruh
Guest
Cool story bruh
26 days ago

Get a small SUV.
So you can be different.
Just like everybody else.

De Cnijf Kris
Guest
De Cnijf Kris
26 days ago

In Belgium T-Roc is an interesting car. Audi looses all its sales. At best you'll see a new A1.

Dolores Ana Martín Ponce
Guest
Dolores Ana Martín Ponce
26 days ago

The two cars are very nice

Jon Hepplestone
Guest
Jon Hepplestone
26 days ago

How old is the tech underneath this car, if you still have to put the key in the ignition and turn it to start the car?

James
Guest
James
26 days ago

£42k for 40TFSI Quattro?! Only has 190PS… Dam that's pricey.

James
Guest
James
26 days ago

How much are the cars you reviewed? Over £30k? Exactly how much though?

nekretnine sdsdsa
Guest
nekretnine sdsdsa
26 days ago

Mat-VW hater haha

Elsie Hewitt is drop dead gorgeous

Adele Exarchopoulos & Lea Seydoux